NCBF Excellence Award

Established in 2015, the NCBF Excellence Award recognizes an outstanding contribution to law-related philanthropy by an individual.

The following distinguished members have received this recognition:

Hon. Debra Walker

2017 - Hon. Debra Walker, Cook County Circuit Court judge.  Debra has a strong history of leadership in both bar foundation and bar association circles, having served on the NCBF Board of Trustees, as president of the Illinois Bar Foundation, and president of the Women's Bar Association of Illinois.  She chairs the Commission on Professionalism of the Illinois Supreme Court.

Colonel (USAF Retired) Martin

2016 -  Colonel (USAF Retired) Martin, former Executive Director of the Arkansas Bar Association and the Arkansas Bar Foundation.  Bill was active in the NCBF, having served two terms on the NCBF Board of Trustees and three years as NCBF Treasurer.  He was designated an NCBF Trustee Emeritus for his continuous and long-standing support and involvement in the organization. He continues to remain active in bar work, serving on the boards of both the Pulaski County Bar Association and the Pulaski County Bar Foundation, which he helped found.

Thomas R. Tinder

2015 - Thomas R. Tinder, Executive Director of the West Virginia Bar Foundation and a former NCBF president, who continues to be active in the NCBF.  In his acceptance remarks, Mr. Tinder noted that "faith, friends and family are the true essence of life."